Ayres Rewards

40th Anniversary of the Los Angeles Comic Book and Science Fiction Convention

About 2 year(s) ago by Ayres Hotels

The city of Los Angeles celebrates its 40th anniversary of the annual LA Comic Book and Science Fiction Convention on Saturday, January 7th to Sunday, January 8th. The show hours are from 10:00 A.M. to 6:00 p.m. on Saturday and 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on Sunday. Comic fanatics can find their haven for exclusive programs, a marketplace to buy both old and new comic books, see special guests in the industry, and find other collector items.

The convention will have a double feature LA premiere for the films, Ultraman X and Ultraman Ginga S.

The Comic Book and Science Fiction Convention features a number of different jaw-dropping programs. The line-up includes:

  • Sonequa Martin-Green: Sasha Williams from The Walking Dead, Tamara from Once Upon a Time
  • Khary Payton: King Ezekiel from The Walking Dead
  • Josh McDermitt: Eugene Porter from The Walking Dead
  • George Perez: Marvel and DC Comics artist
  • Patrick Duffy: Man from Atlantis, Dallas, Step by Step
  • Ryan Meinerding: Marvel Studios’ head of visual development – Doctor Strange, Iron Man, Thor, Captain America: Civil War, Avengers, Avengers: Age of Ultron
  • Ruben Procopio: Artist for DC Comics Batman ’96, storyboard artist for Warner Bros Animation
  • Phil Bourassa: Character designer for Warner Brothers Animation
  • Dusty Abell: Marvel and DC Comics artist and character designer for Warner Brothers Animation
  • Justin Copeland: Storyboard artist for Warner Brothers Animation and Marvel Animation
  • Chris Copeland: Storyboard artist for Warner Brothers Animation and Marvel Animation
  • Jon Bogdanove: Marvel and DC comic book artist, co-creator of DC Comics Steel and Death of Superman storyline
  • Alex Nino: Classic Marvel and DC Comics and Warren Magazine artist
  • Jim Silke: Bettie Page and Good Girl artist
  • William Winckler: Writer/director/producer of US versions of Ultraman, Gaiking, Vanguard Ace, Starzinger, Fist of the North Star, Captain Harlock, and the voice of Ultraman as well as many others
  • Karen Fukuhara: Stars as Katana in DC Comics’ Suicide Squad
  • Sandy Collora: Director, creature designer and sculptor, storyboard artist, writer/publisher of the Art of Creature and character design
  • Steve Blum: Voice of Wolverine, Spike Spiegel/Cowboy Bepop, Starscream/Transformer Prime
  • Mary Elizabeth McGlynn: Voice of Julia/Cowboy Bepop, Sailor Moon Crystal, Star Wars Rebels, Steven Universe
  • Joan Howard Maurer: Daughter of Moe Howard of The Three Stooges
  • Mike Mayhew: Marvel and DC comic book artist for Star Wars and Spider-Man
  • Sean Galloway: Marvel and DC Comics artist, Marvel animation spectacular for Spider-Man
  • Kim Gottlieb-Walker: Movie and TV set photographer, On Set with John Carpenter book signing
  • Ray Santiago: Pablo Simon Bolivar on Ash vs. Evil Dead

Admission is $20 per day. Children who are five years old and younger get free admission, while children from age six to twelve years old receive a discounted admission price of $10.

Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach is about a twenty-minute drive from the convention’s venue, The Reef.

By submitting this comment you agree that your personal information will be made public.